Nebraska

Rural Health Transformation Program
Program
Nebraska
First-year award
$218,529,075 (CMS)
Lead agency
Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
Program page
dhhs.ne.gov/Pages/Rural-Health-Transformation.aspx
Contact
The program office's contact details
Where the plan names technology
Nebraska's project narrative includes an eHealth and Mobile Access initiative whose remote patient monitoring uses wearable sensors "with AI-assisted analytics to identify risks and prompt timely clinician action," and a Nebraska Rural Health Technology Catalyst Fund and Partnership Initiative (NETECH), described as "a tech catalyst fund." The plan also calls for EHR-integrated monitoring, "telehealth-enabled crisis response" and regional coordination and governance structures to "strengthen cybersecurity capability."
AI named in the plan
Yes
Funding rounds
Awards
  • Sept 1, 2026: $4,565.37 to $2,441,936.73 per award to 13 awards. Intent to award under Initiative 5.3 for equipment and modifications at mental health crisis facilities, including hospitals, counseling centers and the Winnebago Tribe of Nebraska. The notice does not state a total. Announcement
  • Jul 15, 2026: $129,468.30 to $256,841.21 per award to 9 awards. Initiative 3.3 rural health care workforce awards for SNAP Employment and Training sites, including four community colleges selected in a round that closed July 10, 2026. The notice does not state a total. Announcement
  • Jun 10, 2026: $195,523.20 to $18,156,856.12 per award to 24 awards. Initiative 4.4b remote patient monitoring awards to hospitals and health centers; the largest, $18,156,856.12, goes to the Nebraska High Value Network, a collaborative network, and the notice lists 21 individual hospitals receiving funding. The notice does not state a total. Announcement
  • May 6, 2026: $90,000.00 to $340,000.00 per award to 24 awards. Initiative 4.4a chronic disease navigation and education awards to hospitals, clinics, local health departments and others, including Encounter Telehealth. The notice does not state a total. Announcement
  • $50,850.34 to $501,986.00 per award to 27 awards. Initiative 1.1 School Kitchen Modernization awards, listed as "RHTP Approved Awards and Purposes" in the Nebraska Department of Education's October 2026 board report, which says "Board members approved the distribution of funds." NDE says the amounts "represent the maximum potential award for each entity" and may be adjusted; the list prints no total. Announcement
  • $16,000.00 to $1,162,500.00 per award to 35 awards. Initiative 1.3 Farm-to-School Procurement and Policy Technical Assistance awards, listed with the school kitchen awards in the Nebraska Department of Education's October 2026 board report. NDE says the amounts are "the maximum possible award" and that final amounts "may be lower, pending further review of available funds and verification of each applicant's eligibility"; the list prints no total. Announcement
Next
The DHHS grants page lists all 12 of its RHTP requests for applications as closed, most with applications under review, and says "a list of awardees will be posted online"; it still shows the school kitchen and farm-to-school rounds, which the Nebraska Department of Education runs, as under review. A public dashboard maps where RHTP funds have gone; its figures could not be read. The program page also lists targeted releases for rural jurisdictional stockpiles to local health departments (Jan. 21, 2026) and for community health worker networks and oral health to local and tribal health departments (Jan. 8, 2026), with no deadlines posted. Questions go to [email protected], and the program page links an email sign-up for updates.
Checked against its sources

What the money can pay for: What does the Rural Health Transformation Program pay for?.